Governance of La Casa de Maria

La Casa de Maria was founded by the then Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary in 1955. In 1970 the community became an ecumenical community of women and men. It is under the non-profit umbrella of the IH Community that La Casa continues to be stewarded today as an interfaith retreat and conference center.

Board of Trustees Immaculate Heart Community

IHM photo 6 13 close
Karol Schulkin, President
Victoria Berry, Vice President
Jean Scott, Chair
Jill Whittington, Vice Chair
Vivan Engel, Treasurer
Kitty Murphy, Secretary
Nan Cano
Lenore Dowling
Julie Friese
Mary Kirchen
John Mutz

La Casa has a local advisory council made up of members of the IH Community and the Santa Barbara community. The Council meets bi-monthly to support the work of the center.

La Casa de Maria Coordinating Council

CT Fount tile cropped 8 12
Lynn Enloe, Chair
Mary Becker
Heather Sourial Craigie
Arthur Gross-Schaefer
Koan Gary Janka
Kitty Murphy
Karol Schulkin, ex officio IHM liaison
Martha Siegel
Afaf Turjoman

About Us—Overview

La Casa is a beloved refuge of peace where individuals and groups can renew body, mind, and spirit. More

Mission, Vision, and Goals

The mission of La Casa is to be a sanctuary of peace. More


La Casa’s first residents were the Chumash people who tended the spirit and the beings of this land. More


La Casa is stewarded by the Immaculate Heart Community, a lay, ecumenical community of women and men. More


Enjoy a visit around La Casa’s 26 acres of semi-rural land, nestled between mountain and sea. More

What our guests tell us…

Listen to comments from people who know us. More

Follow Us

  • Center for Spiritual Renewal